Skip to content

Lhtako Dené Nation holding spring election for chief and council

Election to take place on March 22
Members of the Lhtako Dene Nation south of Quesnel will be heading to the polls in late March. (Rebecca Dyok photo)

The Lhtako Dené Nation will be holding an election for chief and council next month.

Incumbent chief Clifford Lebrun and councillors Raymond Aldred, Wanda Aldred and Timothy Michell are all seeking re-election.

Lebrun is being challenged by two other candidates including Raymond Aldred and Frank Boucher, who are both also running for council.

The election is the first staggered election under the community’s new election code.

In October 2019, the Indigenous community located just south of Quesnel voted overwhelmingly in favor of adopting the Lhtako Dene Election Code which would be used to hold the election of chief and council instead of the election rules in the Indian Act and the Indian Band Election Regulations.

A general election was held in 2020 with five candidates seeking the office of chief and 14 for the office of councillor.

This year there are fewer candidates, with three for chief and eight for councillor.

A polling station will be set up at the Community Hall on Tuesday, March 22 from 10 a.m. to 6 p.m.

Read More: Tie for new ?Esdilagh First Nation Chief broken in random draw

Do you have something to add to this story, or something else we should report on? Email:

Like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter.